Banana nut muffins

My first class was cancelled this morning. So I had a little extra time to devote to styling my new haircut and baking (not at the same time, however!).

I was convinced to chop my hair last night and I feel good about it so far  

 

But anyways, I asked Sean what he wanted for breakfast. We gave serious consideration to Perkins. Saving money is also pretty heavy in our minds so we stayed home and I adapted a banana muffin recipe.

The original recipe can be found here. I didn’t follow the instructions exactly, and I added some nuts to pack in the morning protein. Here’s my rendition:

 

  • 1 basically melted stick of butter
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 ripe (or over ripe) bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tiny splash of almond extract (tsp)
  • 1 tiny sprinkle of baking soda (tsp)
  • 1 & 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1/2 cup of ground flax seed (optional)
  • 1 cup of chopped cashews (you could use almost any nut)

Fill the muffin tin up, with liners or without- spray with Pam or rub some coconut oil in them, and bake at 400 for about 20 mins

My first batch got a little over done so watch them more carefully than I did 😉 Sean loved my second batch though! And so does our little man.  

 

Banana nut muffins

Leave a Reply

